top of page

Fanfare in a Continuum of Gradual Momentum

Written in 2011 by Steve Kornicki, "Fanfare in a Continuum of Gradual Momentum" is a five-minute orchestral crescendo utilizing three distinct layers of instrumental sound to reach a powerful climactic finale.


The title reflects the nature of the composition's texture and dynamic contour. The orchestra's choirs are divided into groups - continuous pulsing and oscillating sounds (2nd violins, violas, cellos, basses, harp, vibraphone, tam-tam played with sticks, oboes, bassoon 1), wave-like sustained tones (flutes, clarinets, bassoon 2, horns, trumpets, trombones, first violins) and pointillistic, interruption sounds (piccolo, tuba, timpani, tubular bells, snare drum, bass drum). Towards the climax, all of the instruments coalesce into a crashing, rhythmic fanfare.

Premiere Performance by the Brevard Symphony Orchestra -January 17, 2015, King Center for the Performing Arts, Melbourne, Florida, Conducted by Christopher Confessore


Awarded a "Special Citation of Excellence" by the College Orchestra Directors Association (CODA) 2013 Composition Competition

Harmonically, the instrumental parts are constructed from two tonally compatible twelve-tone rows that are arranged horizontally in overlapping proportions for the length of the work (rows listed below with temporal placement). The two rows are equally distributed amongst the orchestral parts, interacting within a pre-determined form. These parts are then vertically arranged to produce layered intervallic combinations by elongating the singular tones of the rows for the five minute duration through extended repetition and sustenance. The piece begins with a minor 2nd interval of B/C and ends with the minor 3rd interval of G/Bb. Denser harmonies are produced in between the two poles by the successive layering and varying entrances of the instrumental groupings.


Layered tone-rows from 0' 00'' - 5' 00'' at quarter note = 126 beats per minute --


B   E    F♯    E♭   C♯   Bb   G♯   C   F   A   D   G


C   D   C♯   G♯   B     F♯    E♭   F   G   E   A    B♭


The piece is based on the mathematical concept of self similarity (the property of having a substructure analagous or identical to an overall structure) and fractal geometry. Objects in the real world that can be defined as fractals (coastlines, sea shells, snow flakes, crystals, leaves and plants, etc.) all display aspects of self similarity. The musical processes utilized in this music can be seen as analogous to this principle because the work’s resulting textural structures consist of many instances of the same or similar material, ultimately defining the overall form. The self-similarity effect of the music may also create a "suspended time frame" experience for the listener.

bottom of page